What it means to be a third culture kid

 

People often ask me where I’m from. This is a question that can reveal a lot about a person. Most people have a one word answer to this question but for me this is a question that really requires a slightly longer explanation. I am originally from India but I spent a significant number of years living in Thailand where I attended an international school. Not only did this expose me to new cultures and different kinds of people but it also shaped my way of thinking and my personality. I was able to experience Indian culture through my family and culture from all around the world through my friends and travel. This is one of the main reasons that coming to the USA for college education was such an easy choice. The only factor in choosing where I wanted to pursue my education was the quality of education offered.

 

Leave a Reply

